Weekly meetings held at

Medstar St. Mary’s Hospital Atrium

Thursdays at 7:30AM


Leonardtown Rotary Club

St. Mary's County, Maryland

The 7th Annual Running of the Balls

The 7th Annual Running of the Balls - August 5th, 2017 - 7pm at The Leonardtown Beach Party


The “Running of the Balls” is a fundraising event conducted jointly by the Leonardtown, Charlotte Hall and Lexington Park Rotary Clubs. Proceeds benefit the activities of Rotary locally & internationally: Student & Teacher Scholarships, Community Service Projects, Clean Water, End Polio Now and much more…

Our 2017 event, Paddle for First Responders, is being expanded into Paddle for Heroes for 2018. People can paddle a kayak, canoe, or Stand-up Board on beautiful Breton Bay to provide scholarships for First Responders and their families (Police, Fire, EMS) or provide military personnel experiencing service-related PTSD funds to attend the non-medical WarFighter Advance 7-Day Program. Click on the link to the Paddle Website for more details and to register.

Charlotte Hall & Leonardtown Rotary Club will host Basket Bingo on Sunday, April 8, 2018 at the Hollywood Fire Department Social Hall. Proceeds benefit grants & the 2017 BECA Scholarship Program for St Mary's County Students, grants, and local projects.


Paddle for Heroes

Basket Bingo

ROTB Website

St. Mary's County Oyster Festival

The St. Mary's Count Oyster Festival is held on the third weekend of October near Leonardtown, Maryland. The Festival includes an oyster shucking contest and cook-off. Leonardtown Rotary sponsors the event and provides the worlds best seafood chowder!

Paddle Website Oyster Fest Website

St. Mary's County Dictionary Drive for Third Graders

Every year, Leonardtown Rotary provides over 650 dictionaries to St. Mary's County 3rd Graders.

St. Mary's County Schools Teacher Appreciation Dinner

Every year, Leonardtown Rotary partners with Lexington Park Rotary for the Teacher Appreciation Dinner, celebrating excellence in education in our county’s public and parochial schools. Master of Ceremonies School Superintendent J. Scott Smith helped recognize fifteen teachers, whose classroom results and inspiration of students identify as truly remarkable and effective. Those honored are as follows:


Cheryl Long, Principal                                         2016 National Blue Ribbon School

White Marsh Elementary  School


Melissa Bean                                                        SMECO Outstanding Mathematics Teacher of the Year for Elementary School      

Banneker Elementary  School


Jodi Tenney                                                           SMECO Outstanding Mathematics Teacher of the Year for Middle School                                                          

Leonardtown  Middle School


Brian Weisner                                                       SMECO Outstanding Mathematics Teacher of the Year for High School

Great Mills High School


Christi Wenk                                                         SMECO Outstanding Scienc.e Teacher of the Year for Elementary School

Banneker Elementary  School


Rebecca Wait                                                        SMECO Outstanding Science Teacher of the Year for High School

Chopticon High  School            


Gloria Dempsey                                                    Archdiocese of Washington Veteran Teacher  of the Year Award

St. Mary's Ryken High School


Stephanie Dameron                                            Archdiocese of Washington Novice Teacher of the Year  Award                                          

St. Mary's Ryken High School


Reverend Scott Woods                                       Xaverian Brothers Sponsored School Theodore James Ryken Award                                    

Chaplain, St. Mary's Ryken  High School


April Wathen                                                         The Washington Post 2016 Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award  

G. W. Carver Elementary School

Audrey Ellis                                                            The Washington Post Distinguished Educational  Leadership  Award


Principal, Banneker  Elementary School          

Maureen Mullen Detrick                                      Archdiocese of Washington Golden Apple Award                                    


Father Andrew White  School

John Olon                                                                Archdiocese of Washington Golden Apple Award

St. Mary' s Ryken High School


Alison Sayers                                                         St. Mary's County Public Schools Teacher of the Year Award

Fairlead Academy I


Michelle Hayes                                                        Lexington Park Rotary Marco Polo Award

Leonardtown  High School


The Honorees (2) Click here for the Event Flyer Click for sponsor information breton paddle 2 pdh-sm